GENTECH archive 8.96-97

[Index][Thread]

Fwd: Melbourne Media Release - Global Action




---------------------
Forwarded message:
From:	acfgenet@peg.apc.org (Bob Phelps)
To:	mjfrid@hotmail.com (Martin Frid), usp@berlin.snafu.de (Ute Sprenger),
anabaras@ozemail.com.au (Anna Baras), carmtone@ozemail.com.au (Tony Collins),
daniella@beyond.com.au (Daniella Goldberg), Daniel.Drollette@anu.edu.au
(Daniel Drollette), atma@c031.aone.net.au (Dallas Adair),
conserve@ozramp.net.au (Lisa Santamaria), cljones@ozemail.com.au (Cheryl
Jones), palstar@ozemail.com.au (Paul Starick), nexus@peg.apc.org (Duncan
Roads), asalleh@ozemail.com.au (Anna Salleh), strictlit@peg.apc.org (John
Cokley), i.lowe@sct.gu.edu.au (Ian Lowe), earthbeat@your.abc.net.au
(Earthbeat), firstclick@netinfo.com.au (Anne Stanton), amctagg@tpgi.com.au
(Anne McTaggart), pnewell@ozemail.com.au (Patrice Newell),
ianand@ozemail.com.au (Ian Anderson), ocraig@ozemail.com.au (Owen Craig -
Quantum)
CC:	nswartscoun@peg.apc.org (Ines Judd), lawsonc@senate.aph.gov.au (Charles
Lawson), cfa@spirit.com.au (Judy Stockdale), horodny@dpa.act.gov.au (Lucy
Horodny), LisaK@pac.com.au (Lisa Kinsella), munro@deakin.edu.au (Kathryn
Munro), dpayne@medicine.adelaide.edu.au (Dianna Payne),
dsbrown@cyllene.uwa.edu.au (Denis Brown), jacsincl@ozemail.com.au (Jacinta
Sinclair), scott@multiline.com.au (Scott Simms), g.gaskell@xtra.co.nz (Rachel
McKay), Gyorgy_Scrinis@muwayf.unimelb.EDU.AU (Gyorgy Scrinis),
foefitzroy@peg.apc.org (Larissa MacFarlane), environment@tassie.net.au (Peter
Coxhead), jallen@pcug.org.au (John Allen), rdi@spirit.com.au (Annie Stanton),
michele.c.ferguson@ac.com (Michele Ferguson), foenz@kcbbs.gen.nz (FOENZ),
b.heising@auckland.ac.nz (Brad Heising), natlaw@nlp.org.nz (Guy Hatchard),
wills@santafe.edu (Peter Wills), hirstmg@central.co.nz (Michael Hirst),
king@math.auckland.ac.nz (Chris King), geog-ks@GEOG.AUCKLAND.AC.NZ (Kathryn
Scott 5320), stephanie.mills@green2.greenpeace.org (Stephanie Mills),
carolr@peg.apc.org (Carole Renouf), dagyr@bit.net.au (Darren Gyde),
Jeremy.Evans@anu.edu.au (Jeremy Evans), bwilliams@gsat.edu.au (Bill &
Gisela), atma@c031.aone.net.au (Dallas Adair), pnewell@ozemail.com.au
(Patrice Newell), karenb@curriculum.edu.au (Karen Benn), hiss@ecn.net.au
(Margaret Rankin), johnkyle@midcoast.com.au (John Kyle),
rabbit@wantree.com.au (Marguerite Wegner), webb@internet-australia.com (Tony
Webb), r.sanders@ens.gu.edu.au (Richard Sanders), seedsave@om.com.au (Jude
Fanton), lynette@truck.its.unimelb.EDU.AU (Lynette Dumble),
fraser@wantree.com.au (Robert Fraser), capck@bnc.com.au (Rod May),
davies.phil@pi.sa.gov.au (Phil Davies), bigscrub@om.com.au (David Julian),
arnolds@om.com.au (Sue Arnold), biomap@ozemail.com.au (Mariann/John),
bobstens@melbpc.org.au (Bob Stensholt), eco-cons@bit.net.au (Dick Copeman),
denise.boyd@green2.greenpeace.org (Denise Boyd), l.bloomfield@unsw.edu.au
(Leah Bloomfield), R.Hindmarsh@plato.ens.gu.edu.au (Richard Hindmarsh),
ausconsumer@choice.com.au (Sally Nathan), sharron.
Date: 97-04-18 06:21:55 EDT

GLOBAL WEEK OF ACTION: Melbourne's Plans

NEWS MEDIA RELEASE APRIL 21, 1997
THE LAST SUPPER AT MONSANTO'S MUTANT CAFE

Monster Mash, Roundup Gene Beans, and Porky Human Chops are among the
specials at "Monsanto's Mutant Cafe". A succulent satire by the Four on the
Floor troupe, GeneEthics Network and Friends of the Earth will be devoured
at Monsanto's Headquarters, 600 St Kilda Road, from 12.30-1.30pm, Wednesday
April 23, 1997. Peter Garrett of Midnight Oil and Democrat Senator Natasha
Stott-Despoja will thicken the plot.

Our satire coincides with a week of global citizen actions in forty
countries, to focus on threats to food safety and calls for labelling of
gene spliced foods.

Monsanto's Roundup Ready Soybeans, imported from the USA, are sprayed from
the air with high doses of Monsanto's Roundup herbicide, so microbe genes
and chemical residues are entering Australia in the beans.

As sixty percent of processed foods contain soybeans - including baby
formula, bread, hamburgers, soups and icecream - everyone is affected.

"Despite recent food poisonings and deaths from contaminated foods,
Monsanto's Roundup tolerant soybeans have not been assessed or approved by
the Australia NZ Food Authority," says Bob Phelps, GeneEthics Director.

"Monsanto's claim that their genetically engineered crops remove chemicals
from agriculture is clearly false," Mr Phelps said.

"Roundup has a half-life of sixty days in soil, two weeks in water, and
contaminates food," he said.

"Monsanto has asked the Food Authority to legalise soy imports by raising
the allowable Roundup residue levels from .1mg/kg to 20mg/kg - a 200 fold
increase," he said.

"The contaminated beans are illegal and should be banned, not legalised" Mr
Phelps said.

"They have no history of safe use as food, have not undergone human
testing, and are unlabelled, so we lose the right to ensure our families
eat safe foods," he said.

"Ninety percent of Australians want gene tech foods to be labelled but it
is not required," he said.

"Australian soybeans are an alternative that should be made available as
they are not genetically engineered or doused in Roundup," Mr Phelps said.

"Products containing them should be labelled "Not Genetically Engineered -
Uncontaminated With Roundup so that food buyers have a choice," he said.

"Other unlabelled gene tech foods in our food supply include pig growth
hormone, engineered enzymes in bread and beer, and cheese rennet from
microbes," he said.

"Oil from the seeds of toxic Bt cotton, grown in NSW and Queensland, will
also soon be in margarine and other oil products," he said.

"Clean green Australian foods are a hollow myth promoted by industry and
government, to hide the increasing risk from genetically engineered foods
and other new products," Mr Phelps concluded.

More Comment:   Bob Phelps GeneEthics Network         Tel: (03) 9416 2222
                Lara MacFarlane Friends of the Earth  Tel: (03) 9419 8700


Bob Phelps
Director
Australian GeneEthics Network
c/- ACF 340 Gore Street, Fitzroy. 3065 Australia
Tel: (03) 9416.2222 Fax: (03) 9416.0767 {Int Code (613)}
email: acfgenet@peg.apc.org
WWW: http://www.peg.apc.org/~acfgenet  (under construction)