GENTECH archive 8.96-97

[Index][Thread]

Latimer gained right for new trial (fwd)





---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Thu, 6 Feb 1997 09:28:42 -0700 (MST)
From: Gregor Wolbring <gwolbrin@acs.ucalgary.ca>
To: fordc@theherald.southam.ca
Cc: Brian Brennan <brennanb@theherald.southam.ca>,
    edmonton sun <edmonton.sun@ccinet.ab.ca>,
    calgary sun <sunnews@freenet.calgary.ab.ca>
Subject: Latimer  gained right for new trial (fwd)



---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Thu, 6 Feb 1997 09:20:41 -0700 (MST)
From: Gregor Wolbring <gwolbrin@acs.ucalgary.ca>
To: accd@oanet.com, ACCESS Foundation <danyaon@savvy.com>,
    Asch Adrianne <asch@acs.bu.edu>,
    Self-advocacy and people with lifelong disabilities
     <ADVOC-L@LISTSERV.SYR.EDU>,
    Agnes Fletcher <100726.141@CompuServe.COM>, AWIGHTFELSKE@MTROYAL.AB.CA,
    alan carne <carne@sanger.otago.ac.nz>,
    Alyce_Williams@ccmail.va.grci.com,
    ANNE M DONNELLAN <DONNELLAN@macc.wisc.edu>,
    andrea schein <aschein@aol.com>, patricia <100354.1305@compuserve.com>,
    andrew@awest.demon.co.uk, barbara.levc@kfunigraz.ac.at,
    Jill Simpson <evansh@nca.bbc.co.uk>,
    Benoit Durand <lordemp@idirect.com>, bernie <bclayton@inforamp.net>,
    "Young, William" <youngw@parl.gc.ca>, bioethnet@ethics.ubc.ca,
    Karen Bonna <kb697@oak.cats.ohiou.edu>, NZIMR@otago.ac.nz,
    mike <mike.bray@stonebow.otago.ac.nz>,
    Brian Brennan <brennanb@theherald.southam.ca>, Jabrewerrr@aol.com,
    Brian Doyle <bdoyle@cix.compulink.co.uk>,
    Bruce Uditsky <aacl@ccinet.ab.ca>,
    "B.Bux" <antifa_rheinhessen@link-mz.rhein-main.de>,
    Catherine Frazee <cfrazee@web.net>, Laurie Beachell <ccd@pcs.mb.ca>,
    "Chris J. MacDonald" <chrismac@ethics.ubc.ca>, chn@intergate.bc.ca,
    daa <100726.141@compuserve.com>,
    daniel Reinharz <reinharz@ERE.UMontreal.ca>,
    David Wetherow & Faye Buchanan <wetherow@MAIL.QB.ISLAND.NET>,
    dawncan@mortimer.com, dbrent@canuck.com, dis coal <dcnsw@ip.net.au>,
    Deborah McIntosh <nstn1439@fox.nstn.ns.ca>,
    Derksen Jim <JDerksen@mbnet.mb.ca>,
    William McQueen <wmcqueen@oise.on.ca>,
    don smith <Don.Smith@mohawn.synet.net.nz>,
    Donna.Maciolek@ncal.kaiperm.org, Earl Appleby <CUREltd@ix.netcom.com>,
    francis <coop@scu.edu.au>, E.Stein@em.uni-frankfurt.de,
    Fiona Miller <fmiller@yorku.ca>,
    Joerg Fretter <j.fretter@asco.nev.sub.de>,
    Gabler Georg <G.Gabler@link-f.rhein-main.de>,
    gavin_bamber@mindlink.bc.ca, Hans Goerl <genethics@delphi.com>,
    James Graham <100304.2476@compuserve.com>, G.A.Good@massey.ac.nz,
    bob <rgfnbob@wakato.ac.nz>, Patrick hanley <ccsno@actrix.gen.nz>,
    H_schaudt@schaudt.rhein-neckar.de, hraymond@epsb.edmonton.ab.ca,
    John Hof <jhof@uniserve.com>, infocentrum <infocent@wnet.bos.nl>,
    ingolf Oesterwitz <I.Oesterwitz@DISA.zer>,
    Janet Everett <j.everett@auckland.ac.nz>,
    Janna Jacobs <janna_j@msn.com>, Martin.Jean-francois@uqam.ca,
    QAI <qai@mailbox.uq.oz.au>, Bickenbach <BICKENBA@QUCDN.QueensU.CA>,
    jbadner <jbadner@world.std.com>, "Mosoff, Judy" <MOSOFF@law.ubc.ca>,
    Kari Krogh <kkrogh@oise.utoronto.ca>,
    kathleen watkins <dtv@well.sf.ca.us>,
    kathryn everest <kathryn_everest.TOR_DEMO@xci.xerox.com>,
    kvr <kvr@ukc.ac.uk>, Norman Kunc <normemma@island.net>,
    lance <LANCEE@delphi.com>, johnson larry <oprlfj@gsusgi2.gsu.edu>,
    LMRAUSCHER@aol.com, montford <leighm@nzcer.org.nz>,
    rootsey <lesroo@iaccess.com.au>, Lew Boles <RTRDCLB@oise.on.ca>,
    linda hill <ldhill@duncan.island.net>,
    marcia rioux <MRIOUX@ORION.YORKU.CA>, mariab@discovland.net,
    behindert@olymp.wu-wien.ac.at, paul matthews <pmatthews@cix..co.uk>,
    mbernier@interlinx.qc.ca, maxmill@netcom.uk.co.uk,
    melinda jones <M.Jones@unsw.edu.au>, mticoll@Orion.YorkU.CA,
    R.E.2Munford@Massey.ac.nz, Roland Chrisjohn <rjohn@mail1.treaty7.org>,
    Christopher.Newell@comm.utas.edu.au,
    Niki Stefanakis <stefanakis@blackbox.ping.at>,
    bill alberts <W.Albert@uea.ac.uk>,
    Miles-Paul <MILES-PAUL@ASCO.nev.sub.de>, T.PALM@ted.educ.mq.edu.au,
    funnyboy@outnet.co.nz, Patricia Bregman <patricia.bregman@ABLELINK.ORG>,
    Paul Wallich <pw@panix.com>, longmore@sfsu.edu,
    pam cohen <abdelilah@helix.mgh.harvard.edu>,
    murray <r..murray@auckland.ac.nz>, R.Richmond@auckland..ac.nz,
    ahaz@actrix.gen.nz, Ghitter Ron <ghitter@tcel.com>,
    brereton <hrc@hrc.co.nz>, Ruth Ricker <rricker@shore.net>,
    Brian Salisbury <bsausbur@direct.ca>,
    "Sambrook R.C." <spl4rcs@psychology.leeds.ac.uk>,
    Sara Georgeson <s.georgeson@clear.net.nz>,
    Shoshannah Benmosche <bo385@freenet.toronto.on.ca>,
    "T.Shakespeare" <tilting@windmills.u-net.com>, syoung@mail1.treaty7.org,
    Spinal Injuries Association <spinali@spinali.demon.co.uk>,
    hssrsdn <Stuart.Neilson@brunel.ac.uk>,
    Gates/Brown <ihcno@actrix.gen.nz>,
    Susan Roberts <sroberts@EDU.YorkU.CA>, Tony Burke <TonyBurke@msn.com>,
    roger symes <100070.577@compuserve.com>, dwyer@pcug.org.au,
    Degener Theresia <theresia_degener@FEMAIL.rhein-main.de>,
    Mary.Kalantzis@jcu.edu.au, Uwe Frehse <uwe_frehse@hot.gun.de>,
    Valerie J Bradley <vbradley@world.std.com>,
    david <dvangen@ozemail.com.au>,
    Werner Reisberger <w.reis@tribe.ping.de>,
    "Wesley J. Smith" <73073.517@compuserve.com>,
    Kantel Konsult <kantel@knoware.nl>,
    tzipporah Ben Avraham <zippy%bklyn.bitnet@utcc.utoronto.ca>
Subject: Latimer  gained right for new trial (fwd)



Hi everybody

here a pressrelease by the council of Canadians with Disabilities
(CCD)

Feb. 6, 1997


Canadians with disabilities demand retrial for Latimer


Winnipeg- The supreme Court has set aside the conviction and ordered a new
trial for Robert Latimer. 

The CCD demands that the rights of Tracy Latimer and all people with
disabilities be equally respected.

The Council calls on the Crown Prosecutor's Office in Saskatchewan to
immediatly retry Robert Latimer on the charge of first degree murder for
the deliberate killing of his 12 years old daughter Tracy.

"Tracy's disaability cannot be allowed to become a mitigating factor in a
judgment of Robert Latimer's actions to end her life, or the decision to
prosecute Mr. Latimer for these actions", says Catherine Frazee, a member
of the CCD's Human rights Committee.

"The Constitution of Canada prohibits such discrimination", says Hugh
Scher, a Toronto Constitutional lawyer with a disability and CCD's Human
Rights Committee Chairperson.

"Public reaction in support of Robert Latimer"s killing of his daughter
Tracy sewrves as a painful reminder of the extreme vulnerability of people
with disabilities to serious abuse. Until the general public begins to
look at people with disabilities as human beings and demystifies the
notions of pain and suffering relied on by those who wish to justify our
death, all our lives are at risk" says Jim Derksen of the CCD's Human
Rights Committee.

"We see by the deaths of Ryan Wilkieson, James Nazar, Mayton Meyers, Cecil
Brush, Andrea Helpin, Katie Lynn Baker, Charles Blais, Alma Smith and
others about whom we have not yet learned, that the slippery slope we
envisaged is becoming the reality of our experience as Canadiens with
disabilities" says Pat Danforth of the Saskatchewan Voice of People with
disabilities, an intervenor before the Court of Appeal in Latimer's first
appeal.

THE COUNCIL CALLS ON THE SAKATCHEWAN PROSECUTOR FOR THE IMMEDIATE RETRIAL
OF ROBERT LATIMER FOR THE MURDER OF IS DAUGHTER TRACY---"ANYTHING LES
WOULD BE CRIMINAL"


For more information, contact

Mr. Hugh Scher, Toronto  416-515-9686

Ms Catherine Frazee, Toronto 416-605-2691

Mr. Jim Derksen, and Mr Laurie Beachell, Winnipeg  204-947-0303  

Dr. Gregor Wolbring, Calgary 403-220-5448

Irene Feika, Ottawa 613-241-1000

Ms. Pat Danforth, Regina 306-787-2426